What will you study? 

Students studying for both Foundation and Higher tier will cover the following topics, although Higher Tier students will cover some topic areas in much greater depth.:  1. Number  a. Structure and calculation  b. Fractions, decimals and percentages  c. Measures and accuracy 2. Algebra  a. Notation, vocabulary and manipulation  b. Graphs  c. Solving equations and inequalities  d. Sequences 3. Ratio, proportion and rates of change 4. Geometry and measures  a. Properties and constructions  b. Mensuration and calculation  c. Vectors 5. Probability 6. Statistics 

How will you be assessed? 

Each student is permitted to take assessments in either the Foundation tier or Higher tier. 
The qualification consists of three equally-weighted written examination papers at either Foundation tier or Higher tier. 
All three papers must be at the same tier of entry and must be completed in the same assessment series. 
Paper 1 is a non-calculator assessment and a calculator is allowed for Paper 2 and Paper 3. 
Each paper is 1 hour and 30 minutes long. 
Each paper has 80 marks. 
The content outlined for each tier will be assessed across all three papers. 
Each paper will cover all Assessment Objectives, in the percentages outlined for each tier. (See the section Breakdown of Assessment Objectives for more information.) 
Each paper has a range of question types; some questions will be set in both mathematical and non-mathematical contexts. 
Foundation tier: grades 1 to 5 
Higher tier: grades 4 to 9 
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings